FINAL THOUGHTS UCLA vs. BAYLOR–A Heroic Effort from Clay Thompson!

The Bruins have landed in LAX and finally back in California and it’s amazing the energy we have despite how tired we are.

Anyway, leaving off at 3-3 in my analysis (or more appropriately instant reaction!) I have to give Mr. Clay Thompson his due. I hate to focus too much on one player because today DEFINED a full team effort all the around but goodness, Clay, in his first road against a senior in enemy territory, just showed his will to win to the world.

Bruin fans, for those who don’t him that well yet, well, you better get to know him–with the crowd against him, and the match on the line, Clay fought with all his heart, left his guts out there, cramping all over and somehow pulled out the win behind his teammates as we were all going insane. It was truly an incredible match and even more, for Clay–I am so happy for him as he deserves all the success he has already experienced in his young career. A true Bruin, a great guy, and an incredible teammate…welcome to the big time Clay! You are the man, the entire Bruin nation is chanting your name!

In parting, obviously, we have tonight to celebrate but tomorrow, back to work, though Coach is giving us a tennis day off as we have some academic meetings to attend. Honestly, this was one of the best road trips of my four years because we have an aweome–no remarkable–group of guys. I couldn’t be prouder of this team. And I proud to call each one of these guys not just a teammate but more importantly, a friend. Of course, if we lost this match this post would be different–a bit somber, indeed. And we were literally one point away from doing so but the thing is, truthfully, even if we lost it wouldn’t have mattered. These guys put it all on the line and that is what matters–we did it for each other. That is what makes a great team and a team I am proud of. But thanks to some heroic efforts by the Bruin and my man Clay, it is an awesome start to the year. Trust me, we have a longggggg way to go to reach out ultimate goal. But again, for tonight, it’s a start…and I couldn’t be happier. I also want to give credit to Baylor who played an unbelievable match–again, we were one point away from the sides changing and they have gotten the best of us the last few years. An incredible college match all the way around.

Lastly, thank you again for your support…I’m still so ecstatic how warmly this blog is received–I truly don’t know what to say as it has been overwhelming! Your support means the world to the team and I’ll do my best to keep it going! Today was by the most visits to this blog this entire year, so let’s keep it going and I’ll try to deliver the updates to all the wonderful Bruin fans out there.

Singing off one last time about Baylor, GO BRUINS!!!!!! 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: "On the Road" Update, Match Post-Game

9 Comments on “FINAL THOUGHTS UCLA vs. BAYLOR–A Heroic Effort from Clay Thompson!”

  1. JERRY Sullivan Says:

    Barry, nice job all weekend long. It was like being there with all the drama you and the team created. Agreat win for a great team. Tell Clay that he earned some more of Judy’s brownies!!!!!!!

    Go Bruins
    Jerry

    • uclatennis Says:

      Hey Jerry, well thanks for following and of course, for all your support! I’m glad you enjoyed it. It was a wild weekend but obviously a really fun one too–definitely a great win for us going forward. And yes, I will definitely relay the message to Clay!!!! Thanks again and go bruins indeed!!!

  2. Deborah Thompson Says:

    Thank you!!!

  3. Emily W. Says:

    The video was just awesome, Barry. I hope you get a lot of rest for your throat. XDD And amazing win for Clay and good job by everyone on the team! Just spectacular!

    Get lots of rest and thanks again for updating!

    • Ramona Brigham Says:

      Barry your blogs are awsome I look forward to reading them after every match. Yes Clay plays big man tennis! What a win!

      • uclatennis Says:

        Hey Mrs. Brigham, thanks for reading!!! I am so glad you enjoy them, I am really happy to hear that. 🙂 You know the guys work hard and we all go through a lot to try and pull out the win, so it’s fun that I get to share that adventure with all of you! Thanks for following and go bruins!!

    • uclatennis Says:

      Thanks Emily for following! My throat definitely hurts a bit today but it was totally worth it. 🙂 Thanks for the support! Go Bruins!

  4. Deborah Thompson Says:

    Hi Barry,

    Just sent out your blog to fellow mother Sena (Nelson Vick). This is her reply

    This blog makes the reader feel the rush of what it must have been like to seal this victory! What an entertaining day!

    You are the best.

    Go Bruins!

    Deborah

  5. uclatennis Says:

    Hey Mrs.Thompson,

    Thanks for your kind words, sharing the blog and sharing her comments with me–it really does mean a lot that you and her both enjoy the blog! Every ounce of work is worth it! I’m glad that I am able to express the excitement of our trips and all that is UCLA tennis…I’ll do my best to keep it going! We all wish you were all there with us so this is the best way to bring you a long for the ride. Thanks for commenting, too! It’s great to have you all and of course Clay a part of the Bruin family.

    Go Bruins!


Leave a Reply

