2010 in review….and HERE COMES 2011!! (for real this time)

HAPPY NEW YEAR sports fans, Bruin fanatics, and loyal UCLA tennis followers! With the start of the new year –2011, hard to believe, right?–the new season is truly upon us and right around the corner. I do have a bit of explaining to do and I will give it my best shot. First, I sincerely apologize for completely being absent this past quarter; I blogged the first week of the season, fully set on following the team all quarter and unfortunately, it never happened. And for that I am sorry. Why? Well, to put it simply, there was this four letter word that seemed to come upon me: life. It’s hard to believe, but my incredible rollercoaster of an undergraduate career as team manger will be coming to an end and I spent all quarter preparing for that bittersweet day in May. I applied to ten graduate programs–a mix of Master and Ph.D-and it consumed my life. I spent endless hours writing essays, researching graduate programs, sending transcripts, and reaching out to professors from Columbia University in New York to Stanford up north–and everywhere in between. Throw in my undergraduate research commitment, my history honors thesis, and of course, a heavy course-load of school, and I just was not able to blog and more disappointingly, dedicate myself to the team in the fall.

But what makes UCLA tennis so special is not the individuals, but the larger entity; the program went on, and thrived, just as it always has and always will. It’s a new team, a new year, but as always, the same commitment, tradition and passion. While my personal craziness is behind me and while I wait for my own life to unfold, I get one more exciting–and always challenging–chance for an NCAA Championship. So for real this time, join me for the ride! Only one week until the Sherwood Cup Tournament starts and from there, our first match of the year against BYU on January 21st. In the meantime, expect posts/updates/pictures from practice and the team preview that I promised months ago.

And once again, thanks again to all of you who support UCLA tennis but even more, those that frequently checked out my blog last Spring–to this day, the success was overwhelming and look forward on building on that type of coverage to once again keep all of you in the loop! WordPress.com (the website that hosts this blog) sent me a recap of the past year 2010 and I thought I would share it with you as well for one more nostalgic view before the 2011 year heats up. GO BRUINS!

2010 YEAR IN REVIEW

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 6,600 times in 2010. That’s about 16 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 69 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 70 posts. There were 142 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 17mb. That’s about 3 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was May 21st with 935 views. The most popular post that day was BRUINS WIN!!! .

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were uclabruins.com, twitter.com, facebook.com, thesabre.com, and tenniskalamazoo.blogspot.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for uclatennis.wordpress.com, ucla tennis blog, uclatennis, ucla tennis wordpress blog, and espnews.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

BRUINS WIN!!! May 2010
5 comments

2

“That’s all she wrote….” Bruins fall 4-2 to Virginia May 2010
11 comments

3

GUEST POST #3: Kallim “The Dream” Stewart’s take on this team May 2010
3 comments

4

Bruins at dinner with the whole crew! May 2010
3 comments

5

EXCLUSIVE: Guest post with Kallim “The Dream” Stewart May 2010
2 comments

Excited for 2011 yet? Well, yeah, I am too. GO BRUINS!!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: General News, Miscelleneous

2 Comments on “2010 in review….and HERE COMES 2011!! (for real this time)”

  1. Emily W. Says:

    Keep it going, Barry! 🙂 Happy New Year and GO BRUINS!:)


Leave a Reply

